

January 29, 2025

To: Christopher Pernicano, Chairperson Board of Commissioners

CC: Alan Whaley, Chief Operating Officer

FROM: Barry Gallison, VP Clinical Quality & Risk Management

<u>Summary</u>: In order to ensure compliance with all statutory requirements and administrative regulations the Corporate Quality Department is recommending that the North Broward Hospital District Board of Commissioners take formal action to ratify the appointment of all individuals currently serving in the roles of Regional Risk Manager, Regional Grievance Lead, Regional Infection Prevention Lead, Regional Antibiotic Stewardship Lead, and Patient Safety Officer. While these individuals fall under the direction of the President/CEO, the Board's formal approval is consistent with the District's prior practice and is required under certain statutory and regulatory standards.

Request:

Regional Risk Managers:

It is requested that the Board of Commissioners of the North Broward Hospital District formally ratify and appoint the following **Regional Risk Managers**, under Florida Statute, Section 395.0197 and Florida Administrative Code, Chapter 59A-3, to include **Wayne Murphy for Broward Health North**, Camilla De Abreu for Broward Health Medical Center, Robin Mason for Broward Health Imperial Point, and Regina Vianna for Broward Health Coral Springs.

Regional Grievance Leads:

It is requested that the Board of Commissioners of the North Broward Hospital District formally ratify and appoint the following Regional Grievance Leads, under Joint Commission Standard RI 01.07.01 to include Andrew Sinclair for Broward Health North, Elizabeth Hernandez for Broward Health Medical Center, Carrie Zbierski for Broward Health Imperial Point, and Summer Marrero for Broward Health Coral Springs.

Regional Infection Prevention Leads:

It is requested that the Board of Commissioners of the North Broward Hospital District formally ratify and appoint the following **Regional Infection Prevention Leads**, under Joint Commission Standard IC 01.01.01 to include **Christina Hinkle for Broward Health North**, **Heidi Rubin for**



Broward Health Medical Center, Jancie Cail for Broward Health Imperial Point, and Paloma Pimental for Broward Health Coral Springs.

Regional Antibiotic Stewardship Leads:

It is requested that the Board of Commissioners of the North Broward Hospital District formally ratify and appoint the following Regional Antibiotic Stewardship Leads, under Joint Commission Standard MM 09.01.01 to include Dr. Indulehka Gopal for Broward Health North, Grant Bushman PharmD for Broward Health Medical Center, Glen Howard PharmD for Broward Health Imperial Point, and Dr. Melvin Kohan for Broward Health Coral Springs.

Patient Safety Officers:

It is requested that the Board of Commissioners of the North Broward Hospital District formally ratify and appoint the following Patient Safety Officers, under Leapfrog National Quality Forum Safe Practices 6A 1.2 to include Christopher LaRue for Broward Health North, Lance Richards for Broward Health Medical Center, Donna Williamson for Broward Health Imperial Point, and Maria Belyea for Broward Health Coral Springs.

January	Regional Risk	Regional	Regional	Regional Antibiotic	Patient Safety
2025	Manager	Grievance Lead	Infection	Stewardship Lead	Officer
			Prevention Lead		
Source	AHCA	Joint Commission	Joint	Joint Commission	Leapfrog National
	Sec 395.0197 FS	RI 01.07.01	Commission	MM 09.01.01	Quality Forum Safe
	CH 59A-3 FAC		IC 01.01.01		Practices 6A 1.2
BHN	Wayne Murphy	Andrew Sinclair	Christina Hinkle	Dr. Indulekha Gopal	Christopher LaRue
ВНМС	Camilla De Abreu	Elizabeth	Heidi Rubin	Grant Bushman	Lance Richards
		Hernandez		PharmD	
ВНІР	Robin Mason	Carrie Zbierski	Janice Cail	Glen Howard PharmD	Donna Williamson
BHCS	Regina Vianna	Summer Marrero	Paloma Pimentel	Dr. Melvin Kohan	Donna Diel